King of PublishingFrequent PosterActivity Award
    Overall activity: 100.0%

Thanks

Rod Dreher: Pink Terror Mailbag.2

Pink Terror Mailbag.2

July 31, 2020
    Rod Dreher

A reader [of Rod Dreher's columns] writes:

Iím a long time reader, and to be honest I always thought you were a little over the top, although I enjoy your writing and perspective. I no longer think youíre exaggerating the threat we face.

Iím happy for you to share anonymized excerpts of this email, but please do not share my name, the specific industry Iím in, or anything else that could be connected to me other than the city. Iíve used [] to indicate things I especially donít want shared. Iím sure I would be fired for sending you this. [Note from Rod: I have put ďdeletedĒ inside the bracketed information.]

I have a PhD from [deleted] and Iím in a senior role at [deleted] firm in Washington DC; I specialize in our [deleted]. Iíve been highly successful ó in 3.5 years with the company Iíve gotten a raise or promotion every 6 months. Iím well respected and I now run my own team. Despite this, I have no doubt if my political beliefs were public I would be fired instantly.

When I interviewed with this company, I was asked point blank if I could ďput my political beliefs asideĒ to do unbiased [work in this field], because I had previously worked for a Koch organization. For years I have routinely heard my Roman Catholic faith and my politics (libertarian-GOP) mocked. To be clear, no one knows about my beliefs because they assume everyone is a far leftist. People (including executives) hate-watched the Kavanaugh hearings in the office during the workday; people loudly proclaim their hatred for Trump, Kavanaugh, Barr, etc. The one openly GOP/Trump guy in the office is roundly attacked and mocked daily. These people are so sure everyone agrees with them that many times, they have ranted to me about their hatred of Trump, Kavanaugh, Barr, and even Koch (my former employer), assuming I agree.