User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Samba Server up and running

  1. #1
    Senior Member Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class1 year registered
    Overall activity: 32.0%

    DLLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked: 5,498
    Rep Power
    7086077

    Samba Server up and running

    I finally got a Samba server up and running on my Slackware dual boot machine.

    May need to do a little tweaking but I can now save files from a Windows machine or slackware notebook to the server.

    There are only two IP addresses it recognizes as being allowed in.

    I am so proud of myself, even if no one else is.
    Regarding my avatar: I am the one on your left as you view it

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DLLS For This Useful Post:

    Big Bird (08-30-2019),darroll (08-30-2019),Lone Gunman (08-30-2019)

  3. #2
    Senior Member Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsCreated Blog entry3 months registered
    Overall activity: 49.0%

    jirqoadai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    4,947
    Thanks
    3,850
    Thanked: 2,657
    Rep Power
    4458423
    maybe some day you could retrieve the files from my hardrive from my notebook.
    its reputed to have the treasure map from Braddocks gold.
    sic semper tyrannis

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jirqoadai For This Useful Post:

    JMWinPR (08-30-2019),Lone Gunman (08-30-2019)

  5. #3
    Senior Member Achievements:
    50000 Experience Points31 days registered
    Overall activity: 99.7%

    fortis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    TPF
    Posts
    1,512
    Thanks
    1,176
    Thanked: 2,157
    Rep Power
    2791759
    Quote Originally Posted by jirqoadai View Post
    maybe some day you could retrieve the files from my hardrive from my notebook.
    its reputed to have the treasure map from Braddocks gold.

    Had...LOL.
    Last edited by fortis; 08-30-2019 at 12:53 PM.

  6. #4
    2020 --> TRUMP! Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocialVeteran
    Overall activity: 15.0%

    Big Bird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    10,747
    Thanked: 4,925
    Rep Power
    14258975
    Quote Originally Posted by DLLS View Post
    I finally got a Samba server up and running on my Slackware dual boot machine.

    May need to do a little tweaking but I can now save files from a Windows machine or slackware notebook to the server.

    There are only two IP addresses it recognizes as being allowed in.

    I am so proud of myself, even if no one else is.
    I'm prod of you. Slackware is a tough nut to crack and samba on a Slack system is even more of a saber toothed bitch.
    Alien Bob has a good set of instructions.
    I've been running Slackware for many years.
    2 desktops, 2 media boxes, & 2 old laptops. All are samba servers that can access each others files.
    ďAbout abortion, I donít want to make it illegal, I want to make it unthinkable." - Frank Stephens



  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Big Bird For This Useful Post:

    darroll (08-30-2019),DLLS (08-31-2019),Lone Gunman (08-30-2019)

  8. #5
    Senior Member Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class1 year registered
    Overall activity: 32.0%

    DLLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked: 5,498
    Rep Power
    7086077
    Quote Originally Posted by jirqoadai View Post
    maybe some day you could retrieve the files from my hardrive from my notebook.
    its reputed to have the treasure map from Braddocks gold.
    Ontrack Easy Recovery Professional. Though the version is a little outdated you may still be able to find the FOSI (also F.O.S.I.) download that does not require a key.

    Good old Fosi he kind of disappeared awhile back but he had a few good applications that he "manipulated"
    Regarding my avatar: I am the one on your left as you view it

  9. #6
    Senior Member Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class1 year registered
    Overall activity: 32.0%

    DLLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked: 5,498
    Rep Power
    7086077
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Bird View Post
    I'm prod of you. Slackware is a tough nut to crack and samba on a Slack system is even more of a saber toothed bitch.
    Alien Bob has a good set of instructions.
    I've been running Slackware for many years.
    2 desktops, 2 media boxes, & 2 old laptops. All are samba servers that can access each others files.
    Been researching an easier way to access the share with another Slackware system something along the lines of Windows map a network drive.
    Regarding my avatar: I am the one on your left as you view it

  10. #7
    2020 --> TRUMP! Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocialVeteran
    Overall activity: 15.0%

    Big Bird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    10,747
    Thanked: 4,925
    Rep Power
    14258975
    I wrote a script that dose that.
    From the CLI I issue "sh smbmnt" and the computer I'm on connects to everything.

    make the script and name it whatever you want, mine is smbmnt
    this line mounts a laptop of mine named stumpy
    #!/bin/sh
    #### stumpy
    ## home
    mount -t cifs //stumpy/myuid /media/sda3/PCshit/samba/shares/stumpy/home/ -o username=myuid,password=mypswd,domain=stumpy,iocha rset=utf8

    After you make the script issue:
    chmod +x smbmnt

    run the script with
    sh smbmnt (as root)
    ďAbout abortion, I donít want to make it illegal, I want to make it unthinkable." - Frank Stephens



  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Big Bird For This Useful Post:

    DLLS (08-31-2019)

  12. #8
    Senior Member Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class1 year registered
    Overall activity: 32.0%

    DLLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked: 5,498
    Rep Power
    7086077
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Bird View Post
    I wrote a script that dose that.
    From the CLI I issue "sh smbmnt" and the computer I'm on connects to everything.

    make the script and name it whatever you want, mine is smbmnt
    this line mounts a laptop of mine named stumpy
    #!/bin/sh
    #### stumpy
    ## home
    mount -t cifs //stumpy/myuid /media/sda3/PCshit/samba/shares/stumpy/home/ -o username=myuid,password=mypswd,domain=stumpy,iocha rset=utf8

    After you make the script issue:
    chmod +x smbmnt

    run the script with
    sh smbmnt (as root)
    Okay I think I follow.
    Regarding my avatar: I am the one on your left as you view it

  13. #9
    2020 --> TRUMP! Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocialVeteran
    Overall activity: 15.0%

    Big Bird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    10,747
    Thanked: 4,925
    Rep Power
    14258975
    Quote Originally Posted by DLLS View Post
    Okay I think I follow.
    I should have mentioned myuid should be your username and password should be your password.
    ďAbout abortion, I donít want to make it illegal, I want to make it unthinkable." - Frank Stephens



  14. #10
    Senior Member Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class1 year registered
    Overall activity: 32.0%

    DLLS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    1,008
    Thanked: 5,498
    Rep Power
    7086077
    I must be doing something wrong. I can get it through Konquer but when I to mount it as file system the system cannot find it. I have tried both the ip address and the name.

    I have been using the same name (windows workgroup) as the windows half my dual but windows machine.

    I have changed the samba config name to one that is unique and not shared.

    If if try to mount using //host name or ip it fails but I noticed that when I find it in Konquer it is listed as Workgroup name, then when I click I get another windows machine and the Slackware share.

    Does this mean that on the mount I would have to do something like //workgroup name/host name instead of just //host name. I mean do I have to go down two levels on the

    mount -t cifs //hostname/myuid

    So I would have //workgroup/hostname /my uid

    Sorry to be a pest.
    Regarding my avatar: I am the one on your left as you view it

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •